Belgium National Holidays

There are twelve official national holidays that are celebrated in Belgium, two of which are always on a Sunday. There are some national and public holidays in Belgium where school, businesses and other associations close for the day. Sometimes places will close for the day or their opening hours will be shorter than usual and sometimes people will continue as normal and working hours will be as normal too. There are many national holidays throughout the year, but only twelve of them are offical public holidays, where employees and students are entitled to a day off.

Official Public Holidays

January 1st – New Year’s Day


April 24th – Easter Sunday

April 25th – Easter Monday

May 1st – Labour Day

June 2nd  – Ascension Day

June 13th – Whitmonday

July 11th – Celebration of the Golden Spurs

July 21st – National Holiday/Nationale feestdag

August 15th – Assumption of Mary

September 27th – French community Holiday (celebrated by the French community only)

November 1st – All Saints Day

November 11th – Armistice Day

December 25th – Christmas Day

Other National Holidays

January 6th – Epiphany

February 14th – Valentine’s Day

July 11th – Day of the Flemmish Community

September 27th – Day of the French community of Belgium

November 2nd – All Soul’s Day

November 15th  – Day of the German Speaking Community of Belgium

November 15th – King’s Feast

December 6th – St. Nicholas Day